15
Nov
10

Newcomer – 20 years in the making


Newcomer, a C64 RPG 20 years in the making! Here’s what the guys at Protovision have to say about their project:

“We work on a freely available role-playing adventure, called NEWCOMER, for 20 years by now – this project started well before our attempt to become a formal, commercial developer studio.
This game was developed for the Commodore64, a cult retro computer, and is still meant to be played on real 8bit hardware, with added support for modern C64 peripherals and Hw hacks, but also has dedicated support for running under emulation like a native app.”

Want a feature list? Here’s a feature list for you, then!

  • 70-280 gaming hours for the 1st play-through
  • 180’000+ words of in-game text
  • 180+ character portrait GFX
  • 130+ inventory item and gadget GFX
  • 100+ cutscene GFX
  • 50+ game areas
  • 30+ level GFX sets
  • Animated Intro and Outro
  • Total game size of 2 MB

The history of the game, as the initiative itself, is fascinating, and I urge you all to read about it here.

Could we hope this to be the beginning of a new trend? Huge games, with modern design (but not dumbed down) developed for archaic game systems? Could something like this actually succeed with enough financial backing, hype and marketing? A future where games don’t have to prove themselves as technological wonders and just be good games sounds fascinating.


5 Responses to “Newcomer – 20 years in the making”


  1. June 20, 2013 at 11:19 pm

    I love what you guys are up too. This type of clever work and
    reporting! Keep up the excellent works guys I’ve included you guys to blogroll.

  2. July 21, 2013 at 3:51 am

    The other day, while I was at work, my cousin stole my iphone and tested to see if it can survive a forty foot drop,
    just so she can be a youtube sensation. My apple ipad is now destroyed and she has
    83 views. I know this is totally off topic but I had
    to share it with someone!

  3. January 7, 2014 at 5:42 am

    Generally I don’t read post on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up very compelled me to try and do so! Your writing taste has been surprised me. Thank you, very nice article.


Leave a comment


Categories

Stats

  • 81,031 hits